The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'll be doing my MA so I can qualify as an archivist.
The first two.
Reply 3
I'm studying for my MA so I can go for a career in research. It worked as I have a job waiting for me for when I finish my MA.
Reply 4
It's a requirement (the MA) for PhD funding - I see it and it has been the necessary evil to get where I want to be!
Reply 5
In order of importance for me:

- To improve my career prospects ( either in industry or in academia )
- Because I enjoyed doing my undergraduate.
- To study abroad.

I feel that there are lots more opportunities in my field - Chemistry - in the UK than in my homecountry, Spain.
Reply 6
I feel that too many people have undergraduate degrees these days, so I felt that I wanted to do a master's in order to stand out/differentiate. Changing subject to study linguistics was also something that I was interested in, as well as being relevant to my potential career, and in choosing my master's universities I deliberately chose universities that were better-known abroad than my undergraduate university, since I was going to be moving abroad afterwards. And not to mention enjoying study :tongue:
Reply 7
Improve career prospects and I really enjoyed the modules I studied for Undergraduate
I decided to go straight into a PhD rather than doing a Masters first because...
a) I didn't have the money to do a masters, and it's nice to be getting paid for a change.
b) None of the masters courses I could find really interested me that much.
c) People kept telling me it'd be a waste of time and money as I wouldn't need one to do a PhD