The Student Room Group

'ELS' introductary module for the GDL

Hey,

is anyone else currently doing the English Legal System module for the GDL? I'm not sure if this happens everywhere, but where i'm studying I've been sent roughly 40 hours worth of work to get through before I start (a week on monday) at which point I have a week of lectures before an exam. I'm finding the book quite challenging, mainly because the legal language takes some getting used to. I was just wondering how anyone else is getting on with it, if theyre doing it?

Cheers,
Reply 1
I too am doing this but I don't have books-just i-tutorial and internet materials? Should I have books?! I am completing the work just because it will make it easier when term starts, I don't want to start the year behind on my work.
Reply 2
Lell
I too am doing this but I don't have books-just i-tutorial and internet materials? Should I have books?! I am completing the work just because it will make it easier when term starts, I don't want to start the year behind on my work.

If you're at College of Law, you can (and probably should) do it online before term starts, but when term starts they'll give you a text book which is really just a hard copy version of the online stuff (exact same text and exercises).

I did it last year and managed to cram it in in the week before the start of term. It's definitely good to get it out of the way before term starts as you'll have enough to do when lessons begin; I still remember everyone panacking over having to read 80+ pages for Crime in week 2.

ETA: I should add, we had a test on the ELS stuff mid-October, but it was multiple choice, you only needed 50% to pass and nobody in the year got below 60% (even my lazy friend), just try and get used to the language and system etc. and don't panic (I'm not sure what it's like at other providers but it's probably not much worse).
Reply 3
Moxie