The Student Room Group

Architecture, Engineering or both at University of Sheffield?

Hello

I'm currently studying Structural Engineering and Architecture (hence the username) at University of Sheffield. I'll be starting my 2nd year in a few weeks and if anyone has any questions about Sheffield, Architecture, Civil and Structural Engineering (I take all structural modules and some civil modules) or my dual course then I'd be happy to answer them, in this thread or by private message if you prefer.
Reply 1
At the end of 2nd year now, anyone have any questions?
Yes.

What is the main difference between the role of a structural engineer and an architect in the design and construction of a building?

How often do you find the two courses overlapping?

In first year, I used to live and mainly hang out with architects. They tended to be more artsy than maths/physics type people than us... would you say that this is generally true?
Reply 3
So far the courses have not overlapped much, but structures in architecture and design in engineering will increase in later years of study. If anything they start off almost polar opposites and slowly merge together.

I think there's a mixture of artsy types and more technical types, but I also find the majority to be somewhere inbetween or just random like biology/english/philosophy types!
Reply 4
What is the main difference between those two?

It might only be me but I don't think you've answered that in the post

E;Typo
Reply 5
Adala

E;Typo

I guess it's design through concept and intended use, and design through calculation and analysis.
Reply 6
Smack
Yes.

What is the main difference between the role of a structural engineer and an architect in the design and construction of a building?

How often do you find the two courses overlapping?

In first year, I used to live and mainly hang out with architects. They tended to be more artsy than maths/physics type people than us... would you say that this is generally true?

Adala