The Student Room Group
i always thought havering college was a sixth form :confused:

does it do degrees now too??

anyway I had friends who travelled further who lived in Havering to come to where I went to college because apparently a lot of stabbings happen at Havering College ://

but they may not be true
No there are two colleges in havering one college is open to all regardless of educational background and the other is just a 6th form college.
Hi,
I was wondering if anyone is studying social work at Havering College. Is it very competitive to get in there?
i'm a average kind of student with NVQ Level 3 in Health & Social Care.
please advice me...

...many thanks.
Hi
Did you take up your offer at havering college..
I have a an offer to start September
Many thanks
Hi Matisa,
No, they offered me to start with a foundation diploma instead. I told them to f***k off!
Hi all, I have just finished a BA (hons) in social work. The college takes a lot of stick, but once you get your head around the course and staff, it really is a good bet.
I had two statutory placements which I now hear is unheard of at other unis, the staff were more like friends when I left beacuse the groups are small and you get really intense discussion, and landed myself a solid ASYE post with a local authority having achieved a First Class pass.
There is also good support from the OU if you search it out.
In any project, you get out what you put in...the same is the case here...get to know people and they will help. The library staff, and student support team are excellent too!
The canteens are not great, and HE space is limited but these are small prices to pay. Good luck to you all.
Original post by Dame Dolly
Hi all, I have just finished a BA (hons) in social work. The college takes a lot of stick, but once you get your head around the course and staff, it really is a good bet.