The Student Room Group

Occupational Psychology Application

I wasn't sure where to post this (psychology/post. grad./elsewhere) so please let me know if you think it'll get a better response elsewhere...

I'm in my final year of an undergraduate psychology degree and am applying for a taught masters in occupational psychology to start next autumn.

Has anyone got any advice on applying for masters? I'm doing a dissertation relevant to the course, and have one reference from my dissertation supervisor and another from another member of the department, and have some work experience; I just wondered if there is anything else I could/should be doing.

Also, here's my personal statement, it is definitely a work in progress, but any thoughts would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Spoiler

There'll be an extra paragraph or so thrown somewhere into it about why I want to go to each specific uni I'm applying for, so that'll make it a bit longer (about a page) does that seem about right lengthwise?

Finally... does anyone know anything (good or bad!) about psychology/business/post. grad. at any of these unis:
Aston Uni., City Uni, Goldsmiths, Uni. of London, London Met., Manchester Uni., Nottingham Uni., Sheffield Uni., Surrey Uni.
Reply 1
I would get rid of the final paragraph of your PS; it's not as good as the rest of it and is quite unnecessary.
Also, do you have anything you can add about books/theories that interest you, or about conferences/exhibitions that you have been to/are planning to go to?
I would advise going to www.conferencealerts.com, putting in your criteria (conference subject/location) and taking note of the emails that are sent to you once a month with relevant information. You can also browse conferences whose details are currently available on the site, and you might want to look at the websites of universities that are local to you as they may be holding relevant events that are not advertised on Conference Alerts.