The Student Room Group
Reply 1
poptart86
hi there, this is aimed at both english AND history students :p:

Im studying the Duchess of Malfi and need to have a good understanding of the context it was written in. All i know really is that it was a time of fear and people distrusted foreigners - does anyone have any extra info about the era and *wishful thinking* anything specifically to do with the Duchess of Malfi?

thanks people :hugs:

i had my english lit exam on the 15th and had the duchess of malfi on that exam. i may have fluked an A at AS, but im not the best english student... but this is what i know.

cotext-wise, there's quite a lot for the duchess of malfi. but make sure you use the context either to support your argument or to make clear you understand it... integrate it carefully and skilfully. the exmainers dont want a history essay (but im sure you know that).

the question i chose in the exam was to do with the audiences reaction to the barbarity and cruelty througout the play. i distinguished the different perceptions of both a modern audience and a jacobean audience. see, the jacobeans lived in close proximity with death, disease and suffering, therefore the merciless executions in the play (such as those of the duchess and cariola) didn't come across as exceptional or surprising. they'd be seen as intriguing and to an extent comic. wheras a modern audience would be more shocked. on the subject of death and destruction, Webster uses these themes as a metaphor of politcal corruption and deterioration in the play (such as with characters like the cardinal). jacobean audiences would also be able to relate this to the rule of King James I, which is likely to be under scrutiny too.