The Student Room Group

GCSE english, requirement for jobs?

Hi all, I'm new to the forums.

I got a D in GCSE english language and literature. I'm in 2nd year uni. I'm going to try to get a job next year. Do I have enough?. Because my work will mostly be technical related stuff and I have the one or two certificates to show for that sort of job. I'm asking this because when I look at job requirements they usually state minimum pass for english, maths, science blah blah. But I have met people who have fewer qualifications and some with D grade English, and they end up working for big-medium companies. So whats that all about?

Cheers
Reply 1
To be honest I would play it safe and try and get your english grade up to a C or above.
Reply 2
i'm trying to find a place where I can just resit the exam. I've only checked out two places and had no luck. Does anyone know of any college in the London area that offer resit for GCSE english without having to spend 30 weeks or 1 year to get the certificate.
Reply 3
I'm sure Google will be able to assist you!

And just to echo the previous poster's comments, I would advise you do retake the subject given its importance.
Reply 4
LovinLost
Hi all, I'm new to the forums.

I got a D in GCSE english language and literature. I'm in 2nd year uni. I'm going to try to get a job next year. Do I have enough?. Because my work will mostly be technical related stuff and I have the one or two certificates to show for that sort of job. I'm asking this because when I look at job requirements they usually state minimum pass for english, maths, science blah blah. But I have met people who have fewer qualifications and some with D grade English, and they end up working for big-medium companies. So whats that all about?

Cheers

It be okay if ye wah'na be a farmuh!
Reply 5
LovinLost