The Student Room Group
Student at University of Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh

References and other UCAS issues

I'm applying to study Informatics at Edinburgh and have a few questions about what I should do.

Firstly, I'm a mature student and although I decided last year to return to college and get the necessary A-levels anyway, I am not applying through the college. (It's a terrible institution and half the teachers are never there anyway... I wish I could add that to the application form.) This only allows me one reference and therefore one predicted grade and I'm not sure what/who to use. My computing teacher who is fantastic (oxford lecturer who I assume only teachers there for some mandatory community service), or my Maths teacher (will definitely predict me an A and Mathematics is a required subject after all).

Alternatively - should I just bite the bullet and apply via the college... might make it easier but I don't know what else that entails

Also, I was wandering if any of you thought it would be a bad idea to reference Edinburgh specifically in my personal statement. It's the only Uni I'm applying to so will not harm my chances with anyone else but was not sure how they would view that.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Could you get your computing and maths teachers to write a combined reference? This obviously depends on how well they work together though! Say ask one to write a reference, and then give it to the other one to add in a section about your abilities in the other subject and generally agree/add to it. Your referees can mention the difficulties with teachers being away etc in their reference. If you applied as an individual I assume they would be more likely to do this than if you applied through college, but either way, this should be mentioned to the university and exam boards if you feel it might impact on your grades.