The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

I don't completely ignore the modules I'm not good at, but if I'm sure that no amount of serious work will get me through the module, then I tend to concentrate on my other modules so I do super well in them and it counteracts the effects of doing really badly in others :smile:
at my uni you have to pass each module so ignoring one wouldn't help.
Reply 3
LOL. I did that.:s-smilie: Wouldn't really recommend it.

Not a good idea really, you end up failing that module, and it drags your grade down.

If possible, don't get in that situation in the first place:s-smilie:
Reply 4
Never tried it, but it doesn't sound good at all.
Reply 5
I'm starting to consider it as I really have no clue wtf one of my modules is about.
With maths its possible to get away with ignoring the difficult chunks of the exam, or at least not learning them in depth, as long as you examine the exam system closely.
I'm sure lots of people have tried it, but it is not a very good idea. Much better to just put in the extra effort. You're just trying to justify not working on something you don't understand.
left one of mine till last minute and got 55%...although im not doing that again, not such a good idea really :no:
Reply 9
It's much easier to get 80% in one module and 20% in another then to get 100% in one and 0% in another.
Reply 10
When I was in uni, if a module was really difficult/didn't like it I would just study enough to pass it and then spend most of the time studying for the other modules as much as I could. In your final year though where resits were not allowed this might be a bad move.
Reply 11