The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

How do I change course from within UCL??

Hi all,:smile:

Im currently in my first year of an undergrad degree at UCL in the language department. However, Im really disliking my course and I certainly do not want to carry on with it for the next 4 years. Id love to transfer to History but I called up the department 3 weeks into the term and they said I couldnt get in for this year as I didnt have an A in History (I was only a couple of UMS marks off!) and that I would need to achieve that A in order to be considered for a place in the history course.

I am now entered for 2 history retakes in Jan and the Hist department said there was a way to transfer from within the uni.

So my question is, how do I go about that? Has anyone on here had a similar experience??? If so, how did it go?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Cheers :smile:
Reply 1
well i swapped from mechanical engineering to biology (took too long though so i could only transfer intot he course the following sep) anyways, what i did was i first talked to my year tutor thing person, and i asked the admission tutor for the subject i wanted, once they said it was ok, i filled in this form:
http://www.ucl.ac.uk/current-students/services/studyinformation/change_program_form

this page should give you some more info:
http://www.ucl.ac.uk/current-students/services/studyinformation/changecourse
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
cloud101
Hi all,:smile: