The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I've just done that - studying at Imperial (finished 1st year and applied for Cambridge this year)

They interviewed me! Whether they take me or not is another question! Good luck with your application - you've got nothing to lose - seeing as you dont have to release yourself from your current uni until you accept an offer from another...

hope it makes sense!
Yes you can. I read somewhere on here of someone getting accepted after applying whilst at uni.
Reply 3
I heard people apply to 1st year, and pretending they are not in another uni
Reply 4
fumblewomble
Cambridge don't usually accept students studying at other uk universites.
http://www.cam.ac.uk/admissions/undergraduate/apply/#other

You have to email to individual colleges for their opinion
Reply 5
I heard that you normally can't. I am currently studying at a Belgian university, but as it's for only one year I was allowed to apply. I did have to write to the admissions tutor to explain my situation and get permission though.
Reply 6
fumblewomble
If you're studing at a university outside the UK then you need to be careful which college you apply to. Some colleges accept students from unis outside the UK, others don't. Best to email the admissions office and find out before you apply.

I already applied - I was interviewed last week :smile: I asked the admissions tutor on the open day, and she gave me her card and asked to e-mail her. As I'm studying here for only one year (doing 2nd + 3rd year of English so I HAVE to stop after one year) she said it would only be 'beneficial' - but like you said, it's best to contact the college early on about this.
Reply 7
mpppp
I've just done that - studying at Imperial (finished 1st year and applied for Cambridge this year)