The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
good good....the only unit i am confident about really
better, i couldn't do differentiation the other day, couldnt see how they got the answer in the book but I am beginning to get it!!
Now to start trig. xxx
Reply 3
Doughboy
How's everyone coming with practice?

I haven't done any C3 this holiday but I'm very confident indeed :smile:
Ok, just done a Solomon paper, and the only thing that baffled me completely was an iterative formula question.

This is a stupid question, but just to double check. The question gave an iterative formula then said "Use the iterative formula with a suitable starting value to find the root of the equation f(x)=0 correct to 3sf." Do you just pick a number that looks to be vaguely close to the root for your value of x0 (sorry, the zero is supposed to be subscript but not sure how to do it) and go from there or is there some way to work out what x0 is? I've never done a question before that doesn't give you a value of x0 to start with so it just confused me a little.

Thank you :smile:
xxx
Reply 5
you choose a number that is within the interval if where the root lies in, eg if the root is in the interval 1 < x < 2, you choose a number between 1 and 2
samir12
you choose a number that is within the interval if where the root lies in, eg if the root is in the interval 1 < x < 2, you choose a number between 1 and 2

Ok thank you :smile:
Can someone help me with questions such as:

find the range of f-1

find the domain of f-1

I know its asking for the range/domain of the inverse but how do you work out the range/domain. What do they mean? xxx
indie_couture
Can someone help me with questions such as:

find the range of f-1

find the domain of f-1

I know its asking for the range/domain of the inverse but how do you work out the range/domain. What do they mean? xxx