The Student Room Group

Recommend me an Italian grammar book?

Hi,

I'm gonna be doing ab initio Italian at uni in october :biggrin: I started learning a bit with one of those teach yourself books but that kinda ground to a halt with interviews and exams and stuff but in half term or so I'd like to start again and do it properly MAKING NOTES AND EVERYTHING :eek3:

And I think a good grammar book would help me. Any recommendations?

THANKS GUYZZZZ
The best i've seen that's still in print is the collins easy learning one. You'll out grow it pretty soon but it's good to begin with.
Reply 2
Azione Grammatica is an excellent one. I use the French and Spanish versions, and they cover the very basics up until subjunctives and more complex grammar structures. It is a very definitive book which will have everything you'll need. DEFINITELY get this one.
Reply 3
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Azione-Grammatica-Advanced-Italian-Grammar/dp/0340915277/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264950184&sr=1-1

Is that the one you mean? It says it's for A level students...

Unless you can guarantee it'll be suitable for me as a beginner? Does it start from scratch?
Reply 4
oodalallyoodalally
The best i've seen that's still in print is the collins easy learning one. You'll out grow it pretty soon but it's good to begin with.

I agree, that's what I used and it was great. Well presented, everything clearly explained and plenty of examples. I also tried Teach Yourself Italian Grammar but it wasn't nearly as good.
Reply 5
Aelred
I agree, that's what I used and it was great. Well presented, everything clearly explained and plenty of examples. I also tried Teach Yourself Italian Grammar but it wasn't nearly as good.

This one is waaaay cheaper than that other one too so I think i'll get it :biggrin: Thanks everyone!
Reply 6
Ziffachan
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Azione-Grammatica-Advanced-Italian-Grammar/dp/0340915277/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264950184&sr=1-1