The Student Room Group

So Stressed Out!!! Scratched someone's car - HELP.

Hi all!

Please read and contribute any help you can. :yes:

My slightly embarrassing story:

Right, I went to park in a bay the other morning, misjudged the gap and just wasn't concentrating enough I guess. The front corner of my car very lightly brushed the rear wheel panel of the car next to me as I was turning into the space, leaving very minor damage - i.e. a bit of scratched paintwork.

As I was writing a note to the owner, she turned up and got into her car without even noticing the damage. I still thought it best to tell her though, so we exchanged numbers etc.

My very stressful predicament:

She has since texted me asking for my insurance details, to which I replied I would much prefer to pay for the repair work privately. As a young male driver, my premium would sky-rocket if this was to go through the insurance.

She replied by telling me it HAS to go through insurance because it's a company car, so I reluctantly sent them to her, saying that I would still like to sort this out privately - perhaps by talking to her company. I've had no reply from her since.

If this goes through insurance I will either have to stop driving altogether, or clear out my university savings for the premium; neither of which I can afford to do!

Is there anything I can do?? Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I don't think scratching a car in a car park will make you premium rocket. Having a full-on collision, totaling your car, flipping it, at least denting another car or whatever might, but not a scratch.

Contact your insurance company now and see what they say the damage will be to your premium; it might not be as bad as you think. I wouldn't recommend doing this until she contacts them though, just in case you manage to settle it privately.