The Student Room Group

Trying to Quit! [smoking of course!]

Good Morning, and in case I don't see you, Good afternoon, Good evening, and Good Night.

Hey, does anyone know how to quit smoking with out the negative side affects while quitting? I mean, I've been smoking for around 5 years now, and I'm sick of it, its costing me too much money! I dont have that kind of money!

Though the main problem with quitting, is not the doing it, its the cravings and the yelling due to lack of nicotine. You can see my posts yelling at NathanL and Howard (Again, I'm sorry) and I can pretty much be nonsensical and an arse with out nicotine, Then all of a sudden I'm sensible after chainsmoking a pack of Marlboro Lights.

Does anyone have any advice? Tried gum or patches? Do they work?

Anything would help a ton,

Wulf
Reply 1
I'm actually on the patches now. I smoked for two years and then gave up successfully for 5months last year but then went back on it. The patches work amazingly as long as you remember to put them on. They releieve the physical cravings but you do miss the action etc. Its bloody hard i won't lie but it works.
I know what you mean about the yelling , i'm really horrid when i don't wear patches and then i'm straight over the shop for ciggies.
The patches can be got free from your GP if your NHS. You only get one chance to quit (i've been given several as i'm astmatic) but if you stuick to it its worth it. You'll notice the differences within a few days. Its better to at least look into using the smoking clinic through the NHS cos otherwise 7 patches (1week) costs 16.99.....expensive!!!!
Best of luck and if you7 need any help just ask me!!!

xxx
Reply 2
Oh and also my mum uses the nicorette inhalators...they work well too.
Reply 3
Wulf
Good Morning, and in case I don't see you, Good afternoon, Good evening, and Good Night.