The Student Room Group

BSc Economics, no Maths experience in 7 years- will I struggle?

Hi guys, I posted this question in the Loughborough section of the forum too- as that is where I would be studying, so thought I may get more concise answers there.

However, I thought I'd post here too.. as there don't seem to be too many active economics students in there. So here is the question;

Hi guys,

Anyone doing BSc Economics @ Loughborough? I'm a mature student and have an offer for a place on the above named course.

I am just wondering how much Maths and how hard the maths would be to grasp for me, I have not done any Maths since leaving school 7 years ago.

Is there support in place for people without Maths A level? I have the ability and willingness to learn..
Edit/Delete Message

Scroll to see replies

Im assuming the last time you did maths was a GCSE? and if so then yes i think you will struggle with the Maths at Msc Econ, you will probably have to do tones of work just to catch up.

However do you already posses a degree?
is this degree mathematical at all?
do you know Calculus?
How much statistics have you done?
Reply 2
Yes you will, you'll need to put in a crapload of work.
Reply 3
Loughborough offer a diploma in Economics too, I believe...for students that want to do an MSc in 2 years, with their first year giving them the necessary preparation.

Masters courses in Economics differ from university to university. You'd be better off asking the university directly if a detailed enough description isn't listed on their website.

It might be worth checking out Paulwhy's guide for Warwick: http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showpost.php?p=10923238&postcount=1

edit: Also...again for Warwick...

Paulwhy
What will I need to know?

Firstly in terms of Economics you need an Upper Second.

Secondly in terms of Maths/Stats requirements:
a) Maths
i) Calculus:
functions of several variables
partial derivatives
constrained optimization using Lagrange multipliers