The Student Room Group

AS Computing - Programming Help?

Hi guys

I'm currently studying AS Computing and have my second exam coming up in April/June. This one I believe focuses mainly on the programming side of things and we are being taught to use Visual Basic.

Can any of you suggest places/methods to improve my programming skills outside of lessons so that I can practise in order to make the exam easier for myself? Most tutorials I seem to find are somewhat useless.

Also, I think the exam is based around making Console applications, so anything you can suggest for this would be great.

Thanks!
Reply 1
Which board are you doing it with?

The best way to improve programming skills is to practise a lot and look at where your errors are. Obviously it's not always easy to think up stuff. Feel free to post here for any specific help.
Reply 2
Practice.

Download VB 2008 express and just make applications with the help of the internet and books if you've got any.
Reply 3
Can't remember what exam board it is, but we just received a skeleton code which appears to be a naughts and crosses game. AQA maybe?

I've noticed a few threads on here about it, but they are mostly written in Pascal or Java, whereas I have only been taught to use VB.

I understand I have to practise, but I'm not entirely sure what I have to practise. Some of the coding we do in class is pretty simple, although I did have a hard time trying to create a program that generates a random number and the user has to correctly guess which number it selected... (Think that was like a practise task, just incase the exam asks us to change the code so that the user plays against the computer)
Reply 4
Buy a Dummies book on programming. They helped me the Summer before I started sixth form :smile:
Reply 5
Learn Python.
Reply 6
war833
Practice.

Download VB 2008 express and just make applications with the help of the internet and books if you've got any.