The Student Room Group

EEA Migrant Worker status- any guidance, regulations?

I am a fourth-year student and a Polish national; until recently, I have been classified as an EEA migrant worker and receiving both the maintenance loan and grant, However, after all sorts of problems with my student finance this year (delays, lost documents, etc.), I have learned that the new team that deals with migrant workers have rejected my application, presumably because they no longer consider me to be a "migrant worker". I won't go into details but basically I have always satisfied the criteria for this status, as set out by my local authority (at the time when it was still them who dealt with my application), i.e. came to the UK to work here; have not left for a significant period since; and have been in continuous employment throughout my degree.

I have read all the recent threads on this subject and realise that many other have been similarly affected by the recent case. I don't need to say how extremely unfair it is to suddenly change the way regulations are interpreted and refuse financial support to people who are already in the middle of their degree and whose circumstances have not changed.

I have the following request: does anyone have access to the official guidance that the migrant team use? Or, even better, do you know what EU regulations and cases are relevant in this area? Finally, any advice on what sort of arguments I could use in my letter to the migrant worker team to try to appeal their decision? For example, previous posts have suggested mentioning considering writing to the MP; and "I look forward to hearing from you within 15 days"; are these good ideas? any others?

Thanks very much.

Bart
Sadly the stance taken is that local authorities were misinterpreting the rules and in error in the first place. I don't think you will be able to change their minds whatever you try to do.
Reply 2
Thanks, hypocriticaljap.