The Student Room Group
Seems interesting and fun, and I can imagine studying it for 3 years.

I really can't think of anything else that made me want to study psychology over anything else.

Whether I'd like to go and do psychology as a career is a completely different thing though :p:
Reply 2
It's interesting :smile:
Reply 3
I was thinking of studying it but then got put off by the fact you don't really learn anything material, just different opinions that you could think up for yourself. Please don't shout at me.
Reply 4
I was pretty damn good at it in school. Wtf at the post above me. Been reading an AS level textbook or something?
oh wow
I was thinking of studying it but then got put off by the fact you don't really learn anything material, just different opinions that you could think up for yourself. Please don't shout at me.

Hey - not shouting - but I feel I should defend Psychology...
I'm in my final year of a Psychology degree and trust me, you learn material, not options. If by options you mean theories, sure, there are theories, but think about those as hypotheses that go on to be scientifically tested in laboratories like any other science subject (eg. theories of cognition, theories of social learning).
We learn material, if by that you are referring to facts; studying the anatomy of the brain required facts rather than options of what to call stuff!

To thread starter:

Reasons for picking psychology - fascinating subject, one that is overlooked by many as being an 'easy', 'mickey mouse' subject. It has a good mix of disciplines - essay writing, maths, and science.

Reasons you may not want to pick psychology - it is a lot more science based than many imagine - it is a science, just as biology is a science. There is a lot of maths and statistics involved too - experimental modules require you to gather and subsequently analyse your data.

Please don't think that the degree will be a continuation of the same thing as A level. It is very different.