The Student Room Group

Query about IELTS Exam for 2011 Entry.

Hello. I'm an italian student who wishes to study in England. this summer I'm gonna do a IELTS preparation in Oxford for 1 month. so i wonder if it's worth taking the exam in july 2010 although i'll apply in october 2010 for 2011 entry. my doubt is the following one: if i get a lower score than i need, could this fact affect my application? is it better applying without any english qualification and doing it later? thks
Reply 1
IELTS is generally an easy test. I did one without much preparation and still got 7 overall. You can take during summer (i did in july too) and get results in several weeks. On your UCAS application you are not required to put your results, so if you are not content with your score just leave blank. If yes, then write them down. IELTS does not play much in college applications. They can just set you a requirement to have overall 6.5/7 usually. Good thing is to do it on summer, as you have enough time to resit the test if you are not glad with your results. So, if you get low results, leave blank, and they'll put on your condition marks/points and IELTS score you need to attain. When you get your Laurea, scan it, with results and mail it to the admissions office. Good luck!

Btw, I prepared myself for the test (listening part) by watching tv series without subtitles.
Reply 2
good idea... u told me exactly what i was looking for... I'm used to watch series in english without subtitles too.. anyway before taking the big decision to move to another country i wanted to experience the british life..because of this i'm gonna do this preparation.. thankss now i need only to fill in the application form and pay.. XD
Reply 3
ludo92