The Student Room Group
k cheers
Hey, I'm studying compsci at oxford. Oxford supposedly has quite a theoretical/ maths heavy degree, so you may want to take that into consideration when you listen to what I say.

I have found that whilst there is quite a lot of programming, there is also a lot of a certain kind of maths. I have done about one programming module per term so far, out of a total of 10 modules last year, and 6 so far this year. On top of that there have been some very related subjects such as design and analysis of algorithms, and lots of the others have practicals which involve programming, or the work involves programming.

On the maths side, we did a couple of courses joint with the mathematicians, as well as a couple of other maths courses purely for the computer scientists. These included discrete maths (set theory, modular arithmetic) and linear algebra (solving a system of linear equations). We've also had a module on formal logic, and a module on digital hardware - looking at how things work at the basic level, and building to basic gates, and more complicated operators, and on to a basic architecture.

Hope that helps
fat_hampster
Hey, I'm studying compsci at oxford. Oxford supposedly has quite a theoretical/ maths heavy degree, so you may want to take that into consideration when you listen to what I say.

I have found that whilst there is quite a lot of programming, there is also a lot of a certain kind of maths. I have done about one programming module per term so far, out of a total of 10 modules last year, and 6 so far this year. On top of that there have been some very related subjects such as design and analysis of algorithms, and lots of the others have practicals which involve programming, or the work involves programming.