The Student Room Group
Students on campus, Nottingham University
University of Nottingham
Nottingham
Visit website

Flexibility in offers.

Hi, i'm currently in my first year of (Don't laugh, they apparently do accept them) a BTEC National Diploma for I.T. Practioners course. The typical offer is stated to be a DDM (320) but I'm on target to achieve a DDD (360 Ucas points) (Not hard to get really). The only problem is my GCSE Maths, which is shall we say...rather lacking due to an illness in my final GCSE year.

I'm thinking of Computer Science, and I wouldn't say I have an issue with maths but it's obviously not there on paper. I'll have a Key Skills Level 2 'qualification' in AoN (Which, according to many academic sources, is the equivalent of a C in GCSE Maths (The typical offer is a B) at the end of the course and I'll be a mature student as well as having a DDD from my course. Counting the last 2 factors, can this offset my lacklustre equivalent for a GCSE Maths result?

If needs be I'll try and get my GCSE Maths up to par during the summer, but since I'm rather skint right now I'd rather avoid the expense if I can.
Reply 1
DeutschMarc
Hi, i'm currently in my first year of (Don't laugh, they apparently do accept them) a BTEC National Diploma for I.T. Practioners course. The typical offer is stated to be a DDM (320) but I'm on target to achieve a DDD (360 Ucas points) (Not hard to get really). The only problem is my GCSE Maths, which is shall we say...rather lacking due to an illness in my final GCSE year.

I'm thinking of Computer Science, and I wouldn't say I have an issue with maths but it's obviously not there on paper. I'll have a Key Skills Level 2 'qualification' in AoN at the end of the course and I'll be a mature student as well as having a DDD from my course. Counting the last 2 factors, can this offset my lacklustre equivalent for a GCSE Maths result?