The Student Room Group

How to deal with BAD lecturers?

Hey everyone,

I'm currently studying at a fairly reputable university. Without disclosing much I would just like some advice on a situation I am in at the moment.

I'm doing a certain module which has very poor teaching style and assessment criteria. The lecturer has basically listed five vague and subjective points on how our essays are assessed - it's really up to their opinion. Additionally, the marks those of us doing the module receive are seemingly random. Some in their high 90s, others in their low 20s. And the variation from one essay to the next is massive as well with no clear sign of what gets us the marks. There's also a long list of complaints from each student about a lot of other things.

The issue is, this has been going on for years. Students have complained in the past - even to the departmental head - and nothing has been done as a result. They've just been told to stop complaining. This isn't fair on the students who genuinely want to learn, and get marks based on their ability rather than the lecturer's opinion.

How would you advice we deal with this situation?
Reply 1
In my opinion learn those subject areas well and revise them as you would, then if you feel you have been given an unfair mark you can appeal to your head of department or if that fails you can appeal to someone outside of the university. There are still a few options where you will gain a fair mark. Im in a similar situation with one of my lecturers, im just gonna swat up and hope something relevant comes up.