The Student Room Group

Would I be competitive for admission to the following universities?

I'm a student from the US,

My high school grades and SAT I/ACT test scores are mediocre to say he least. However, that was due to a learning disablement in maths and my grades and test scores in the areas that I am currently studying/will study are very strong, with myself scoring 4's and 5's on two AP Exams respectively. In addition to scoring well over 600's on the SAT II subject tests.

I have also completed a year of undergraduate coursework with very strong grades at my current university in the US, achieving a 3.4-3.7 GPA which would be considered first class or on the verge of so in many UK universities overall. As well as achieving what would be in comparison, first class in my majors of history/political science.

So I would be applying for a program in both or history/political science and related fields like war studies, defense studies, or international relations/studies.

With all of this, do I stand a chance at the following universities in England and Wales. If some people on here know about the process of US students gaining admissions to universities in these regions?

Kings College London

University of Leeds

University of Kent
I would have thought so - check the websites for the programmes you are interested in, they are used to international applicants and will probably give a GPA requirement.
Reply 2
There's a very big difference between a 3.4 GPA (which is nowhere near a first and possibly not even a 2.1 by many standards) and a 3.7 (which is borderline a first, but in most cases a 2.1). What is your exact cumulative GPA right now? Because if you don't meet the 2.1 line in most cases, your application will automatically be rejected.