The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
wildrover
It is ridiculous, they are revieveing British tax payers money and surely this money could go towards making it free for those who's parentsa re actually contributing to the system.

If you decide to go to France or any other EU nation you would get the subsidised rate that the locals would get
Reply 2
potatonater
If you decide to go to France or any other EU nation you would get the subsidised rate that the locals would get

yes but the unis here are better so why would you go abroad?
ibs137

Really. If I was a business student I know where I would want to be.

UoM
University Of Monaco.
Reply 4
ibs137

That wasnt my point - its a recepircol agreement. And several European institutions are on par with most of the russel group (with the exception of Oxbridge, UCL and Imperial, if you believe what the tables tell you)
ibs137

We have more Unis which are highly ranked in the world, yes. That doesn't mean that some European universities aren't better than some of ours.
And we have some pretty **** unis...
Reply 6
MetalheadA7X
Really. If I was a business student I know where I would want to be.

UoM
University Of Monaco.

I dont know about UoM but I do know UoW (University of Warwick) is very well known for its business department.
http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/EducationAndLearning/UniversityAndHigherEducation/StudentFinance/StudentsFromOtherEUCountries/DG_065322

It's not just EU students but also EEA, Switzerland and some children of Turkish nationals. Basically it was due to treaties the UK signed with the EU and EEA member states - again these being reciprocal agreements.
Reply 8
I agree with you OP. In this economic climate.. our nation is in debt! We should charge them extra. Not a crazy amount but enough for us British citizens not to suffer from the hiked up tuition fees we should be expecting soon enough!!!!
Reply 9