The Student Room Group

Potential Impact of GCSEs on getting into Uni

I'm in year 11, partway through my GCSE exams. Being a vet has been my dream since I was very very young, and having spent nearly a year volunteering three days a week in my local practice, I only feel even stronger that it's the perfect career for me.

However, I'm not academically gifted. It was always presumed that I'd be able to go on and do anything I wanted no problem, but once I grew up I just got a bit left behind academically-speaking. I'm still a decent student, and I have high target grades, but I've been really struggling to do well in science. I was just gutted after the January modules because I got Cs in Biology and Chemistry. I resat them, but as I thought the last tests went well, I'm not being overly-positive.
Physics, ironically, I do well without problem, which totally stumps me. xD

Altogether, my science grades are as such:

SUBJECT - 1a, 1b, ISA, 2
Bio - B, A*, A, C(RESAT)
Chem - C, A, A, C(RESAT) [I feel like shooting myself for not resitting the first C]
Phys - A*, B, B, A

Biology COULD make it to A, but I'm not holding my breath... I'm looking at a B at the moment. I might be a tad negative there, but I won't be too optimistic ater last time.
Chem... this is my problem. We were VERY BADLY prepared for chem 3. I won't even go into it, but a number of us took it to the Head who is taking it extremely seriously; we feel totally let down. That exam went terribly, for the entire class. Hopefully I scraped a C. I'm not even gonna hope for an A overall. Well, I will, but it'll be a miracle if it is. So I'm hoping for a B.
Physics is not a worry; for one, the universities only really want a B in that, and I'm fairly happy I've probably got an A. DEFINITELY got a B.