The Student Room Group

Should I learn French or Japanese?

Poll

What language should I learn?

I get to take a language class this year with my degree and I can actually start next week or in September. I like each language equally as much (and the textbooks cost the same :ninja:), so any reasons as to which one to study would be nice. I studied French at school and I knew enough to comprehend a periodical or do touristy stuff, but a lot of it leaked out of my brain. Japanese would be completely new.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
If you're equally as happy to learn either, I would take Japanese because finding French courses is a lot easier than finding Japanese courses.
Reply 2
Japanese, its just awesome.
Reply 3
If I could find a way to learn Japanese with ease I so would. It's uberly cool imo
I guess you ought to weigh up the pros of each...I have got experience in both languages...and given the choice I would rather be competent in Japanese, just through my own hobbies and interests. However I am also interested in French too, and would like to learn both to a high level eventually...

That said, if you are thinking in terms of employability, I might hazard at saying go for french.
Reply 5
Having learnt both over the past year I'd say Japanese was a lot more fun, particularly if you have a visual memory :smile:
Reply 6
IMO Japanese is the most beautiful and elegent language that i have ever had the grace to listen too. Once you start listening to it you can't stop!

If you are seriously considering learning Japanese though, it takes a lot of time and patience to reach a level were you could call yourself proficient. It is deffiently worth it, it is as hash007 says it is
just awesome

One piece of advice for learning japanese, Japanese culture is central to their language - never forget that - just rememember that and you will eventually become fluent, with time of course :P

I wish you well in your learnings :smile:
Reply 7