Reply 1
C'est pas que les Français qui en parlent
Reply 2
Carl

it is not the french who are speaking?...huh
Reply 3
"It's not only the French that speak it [the French language]"

Seriously chatting to someone online in French is no good if you have to reach for the dictionary every two minutes.
Reply 4
Carl

Seriously chatting to someone online in French is no good if you have to reach for the dictionary every two minutes.

I have basic knowledge of the language and would like to improve, proven by me badly translating the sentence
Reply 5
Blob2491
I have basic knowledge of the language and would like to improve, proven by me badly translating the sentence

If not on TSR, you might be able to find someone here. It's probably worth setting up a new Hotmail account so you can give your email address out without worrying about spam. :smile:
Reply 6
use google translate...that's what i do with my french amies.
Reply 7
Carl

Shouldn't it be 'qui le parlent'? Perhaps it's a colloquialism I'm unaware of, or my French is just plain wrong (wouldn't be the first time! :wink:) but I don't get why en would be used here :confused:

Blob2491
it is not the french who are speaking?...huh

ne...que goes around the verb to mean only, in the same way that ne...pas means not.

eg, tu n'as pas 5 ans! = you're not 5 years old!
tu n'as que 5 ans! - you're only 5 years old!

The 'ne' is often missed out when speaking informally, too :smile:

natashasha~
use google translate...that's what i do with my french amies.

That thing is awful! :yikes:
Reply 8
Carl

I have to disagree, that's how I learned English.

Anyway, Marylin's correct on all her comments.
xmarilyx
Reply 9
As far as I'm aware...

''Ce n'est pas que les francais qui en parlent.'' This doesn't make sense to me... It's not that French who speak about it?

I thought that for ''It's only French...'' you have to say something alonmg the lines of ''Ce n'est personne que francais...''