The Student Room Group

I couldn't give less of a **** about league tables or uni rep

Is this just me?

I'm going to Liverpool John Moores, which, for all you cynical league-table followers, isn't the greatest of universities. But I couldnt care less, if I'm brutally honest.

I'd much rather go to a worse uni have a a better social life, because the people who I'm going to be going to uni with, will have, on the whole, experienced more, partied more, and be more social, but still be interested in getting an education and a degree. (assumption based upon their not-so-great A Level results). Also, because of the nature of the course that I'm studying, the universities reputation really doesn't particularly bother me either. I'm studying International Journalism, which is aimed to make me employable in an international environment, and for this line of work, its more about your** individual written abilities and passed experience. I want to travel and write in not-so-fortunate countries, where the reputation of a university doesn't matter at all.

I see no benefit to working my arse off at A-Level to go to a redbrick university to work my arse off and not enjoy my time being young to get a degree that isn't guarnteed an outcome at the end in the form of a job, especially in this economic climate.

EDIT: I'm also extremely confident in my abilities when it comes to apply for jobs and I'm really good in interview. I know that I could probably beat the majority of graduate job applicants in interview stage because of my mix of being a well-rounded social person, and the degree helps too.

Is there anyone else out there who couldnt give less of a **** about league-tables or university reputation?

Scroll to see replies

Good for you. I don't see why you make the claim that you'll be with people who have "on the whole, experienced more, partied more, and are more social". If poor A-level grades are an indicator of that - well I think that's weird logic.
Reply 2