The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Visit website

Open University - 85% to get a first!? 70% to get a 2.1!?

Hi guys, I have just heard that the degree classifications at the open university is significantly higher then other uni's.

Eg. at norma uni it is 70% to get a 1st, and most people in essay based courses very rarely get over 75%.

Yest at the open university you have to score 70% just to get a 2.1, and an impossible sounding 85% for a 1st!:eek:

so is the OU VERY difficult, or is their grading system system slightly different, in that an essay usually worth 60% at a normal uni will usually be graded as 70% at the OU?

Thanks in advance for your help, becuase 85% is scaring the crap outta me!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Where is your source for this information? I did an OU course (not a degree), and definitely did not have to get super high marks!
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Visit website
Reply 2
sohanshah
Where is your source for this information? I did an OU course (not a degree), and definitely did not have to get super high marks!

It is on the OU website...also many people on TSR have also mentioned this...

what grade did u finish with? and what percentage did you obtain?

Im pretty certain the boundaries are higher,

however, whether they just give u more marks and it ends up being the same as Uni grading (Ie a paper that I would give to another UNI that would usually get 60% gets 75% at OU) I am really unsure of this, as I am aiming for a first but there is no way in hell, having studied at Uni, \I could get 85%!!

This is putting me off the idea of Open University
Reply 3
I did a module style thing - can't remember what it was called but I failed two parts of it and still got a decent mark. I know that's not very helpful so you should probably ask someone who has done a degree with the OU.
Reply 4