The Student Room Group

Which Eastern European Language

Poll

Which Eastern European Language?

I'm thinking of doing Russian with an Eastern European Language next year, and I'm having a hard time deciding. Any opinions on which language would be most useful?

Scroll to see replies

I voted Czech, I'm not exactly sure why but it just seems like it could open more doors as Prague is quite a major city. Do you have any particular affinity to one of the countries where one of those languages is spoken?
Also I would imagine Ukranian to be very similar to Russian but I have no experience of it.

I would love to do what you're doing though - my dream is Finnish at UCL but I have no background in the language!
Reply 2
Finnish cos its funky. And a twenty word sentance in english is about 4 in finnish. And thats cool.

Czech is also a nice language :smile:
Reply 3
BeckyIsOptimistic
I voted Czech, I'm not exactly sure why but it just seems like it could open more doors as Prague is quite a major city. Do you have any particular affinity to one of the countries where one of those languages is spoken?
Also I would imagine Ukranian to be very similar to Russian but I have no experience of it.

I would love to do what you're doing though - my dream degree is Russian w/ Finnish at UCL but I have no background in either language!

You can do it at UCL with no prior knowledge of either language! It's on the Russian with an East European Language (UCAS R715), you just have to have done a language up to A2 standard, and the requirement on the website is BBB, SCORE! I'm applying to do either German and Russian, Russian, and Russian with an East European Language at UCL. I'm currently trying to decide between Romanian, Hungarian and Polish I think. But I think Hungarian or Romanian would be best. Only problem with Hungarian is the 20+ Cases apparently! Which could be a challenge!
Romanian - which is a romance language so is very easy :biggrin: