Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Sociology and primary PGCE?

Announcements Posted on
Live webchat: Student Finance explained - on TSR from 2 - 3pm 17-09-2014
Got a question about Student Finance? Ask the experts this week on TSR! 14-09-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently apply for university and am thinking of doing sociology
    however at the end of this course I wish to do a PGCE primary
    can I do this with a sociology degree??
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Yes.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Yes you can, but start thinking about how your degree relates to the national curriculum as you will need to put this in your application and you may be asked at your interview too.
    • 29 followers

ReputationRep:
    I have an anthropology degree and I'm starting a primary PGCE in a few weeks. I think my degree is very relevant to education and took the opportunity to do anything I could in choice essays etc on the topic of education/literacy etc meaning when it came to my interview I had a lot I could talk about I imagine sociology will be even easier to relate and more applicable as you'll have done things about the UK whereas I know loads about the education system in India and Nepal, then applied it to current issues in education in the UK

Get as much experience as you can with kids and in schools whilst you're at uni and then you should be grand.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by oxymoronic)