The Student Room Group

Advice needed on Engineering books

I hope its the right forum for this question.

I want to teach myself as much as possible about engineering (more weight on mechanic e. than electronic e.). Which books would you recommend? Which books do you use at university? The book should cover most things that are also discussed at BSc level.

Could you guys -and girls- give me some advice?
2nd question to those who really study engineering (Mech. or Elec. or related): Are you happy with your course? Do you feel you studied useful things?

Thanks in advance :yes:
I'm studying Electrical Engineering. I am very happy with my course, and yes I do believe I'm learning useful things.

With regards to your question, what area of interest within MechE or ElecE are you looking at? For example, if you asked me what are good books for EE, my area is digital/analog communications, and I have a couple books that I quite like. Before we can recommend something, what area are you interested in?
Reply 2
strawberry
I'm studying Electrical Engineering. I am very happy with my course, and yes I do believe I'm learning useful things.

With regards to your question, what area of interest within MechE or ElecE are you looking at? For example, if you asked me what are good books for EE, my area is digital/analog communications, and I have a couple books that I quite like. Before we can recommend something, what area are you interested in?

I'm interested in robotics (cliché). More specifically "intelligent" protheses. But that is just my main interest. I'm willing to learn most of the necessary fundamentals (although I'm not sure how much of it is EE or MechEng or even computer science). Basically I'm looking for books that provide my with materials of my specific interest, but also give me the knowledge necessary to pass an university level degree.
I wouldn't know much about robotics, sorry :frown:
patientology
I hope its the right forum for this question.