The Student Room Group

My economics choices - good enough, too ambitious? what do you think?

I did 9 GCSEs all at A*.

I am studying maths, further maths, economics and physics and have just started year 13.

I am predicted 3A*s and an A(further maths).

My AS scores were:

Maths (91%) did the whole A level in first year (as opposed to doing AS maths and AS further maths together) but didnt get the A*, should do with 2 retakes.

Economics (100%)

Physics (96%)

I am applying to do economics, and i have alot of extra curricular and economic related things, but i dont believe my personal statement is the best (just being honest, I struggle wording these things) but it definitely shows my interest in the subject way beyond curriculum.

My choices are Cambridge, UCL, Warwick, Nottingham and Birmingham.

Are they too ambitious? or not enough so? Should i replace nottingham with LSE or not have birmingham as a back up and include both notts and LSE? I am not willing to change the other 3 though haha :smile:. what do you guys think?

Oh and btw the reason i say my PS is average is because everyone seems to ask 'Assuming my PS is good, what chance do I have?' and realistically most of these PSs just won't be good. When I say average I don't mean its bad by any means, but not a tier above (outstanding) many other very good economic applicants. If that makes any sense what so ever... lol.

I also assume my reference will be good, but thats as far as that goes too (for cambridge). Not outstanding. For the other universities though they are writing a different reference and that is pretty strong. All universities will see all my AS scores as it is my school policy if I am applying to these unis, not sure if thats good or bad considerin the lack of A* in whole maths A level this year but I am predicted to get it by the end of this A2 year nonetheless.

I've tried to give a full overview, would appreciate anyones opinions be it harsh or whatnot.

Thanks!
(edited 13 years ago)