The Student Room Group

A level choices?

Hi,
I soon have to pick which subjects I'm taking at A Level, (I want to study Law at uni) and had thought about:
English Lit
History
German
Government & Politics
Is this combination suitable, and rounded enough etc.?
Also, is Gvt. & Politics well respected, or will it be viewed as a 'soft' subject by the better universities? I've recieved slightly mixed messages on this so far, as some say that it is fine, whereas I've heard that it is sometimes viewed as a 'soft' subject, in the vein of Media/Psychology etc..
Thanks.
Reply 1
Those choices are very good :smile: G&P isn't soft, but it isn't classed as one of the more respected subjects (eg. sciences) but you have 3 respected subjects there anyway :smile:
Don't worry though, you don't have to decide 100% quite yet - I didn't decide until I was 3 days into my first week! (though I advise you decide before that) :P
Reply 2
Well it sounds good to me but i'm no expert. If I was you I would look at what different universities want you to have to get into Law there. I want to do medicine and I dod that and found it very helpful. I think I used the UCAS site?
Reply 3
I think they're very good A levels.
They want to see that you can write good essays, which your subjects would show.

Plus, not many people speak another language nowadays, so German would be very useful.
Reply 4