The Student Room Group

Do Universities care about what you do between Further Education and Uni?

Hi guys,

In July I left Year 12 after finishing my AS exams and got B, C, U in subjects I couldn't care less about. And now I'm studying a two-year Sport Science course that started 3 weeks ago.

I plan to finish my BTEC in Sport and Exercise Science with distinctions by 2012 (='s 3 A-Levels + a certified Gym Instructor qual), then take a year off working in the health and leasure industry (or even just any job), saving some £$£$£$£ for Uni and equipment for what I'm about to do after that, which is take 3 A-Levels in Music Technology, Photography and English Literature so I can get a place in Uni for Scriptwriting.

My educational route looks kinda messy and I'm aware of it so I don't need to be told of how risky the earning potential for me will be.

I'd just like to know - if I'm invited to an interview (the course details mention it), will my chances of making it in be affected by the whole Year 12 fail, then wierd/random Sport Science, then a gap year THEN 3 full A-Levels before going straight to Uni?

In the least, it'd be a pretty awesome story to tell :yep:
Reply 1
You may well be questioned about it, but if you give good, intelligent reasons (not just 'I didn't know what else to do/I didn't want to go into full time work yet') then there shouldn't be an issue. If you have a real desire to do something, it should come through in your PS and your interview. They won't immediately throw your application away because you've done a mix of different things.
Mention the passed AS', but not the sports science Btec. As long as you are qualified, and can prove it. No, I don't think they care. Worth getting another opinion though.
Reply 3
They may ask why you've changed your mind (from the A level subjects to sport to the new A levels and scriptwriting).