The Student Room Group

Exam technique

I love the subjects I'm studying. Sometimes, instead of spending lunch with friends, I read about Chemistry in the school library. I ace every class with outside knowledge and I really understand concepts that would have seemed foreign to me at GCSE.

This is all great, but I'm often getting 9, 7 and even 5 out of 14 in homeworks that I could have done a lot better in. I'm told that my "exam technique" is awful and I could really improve my grade by learning how to gain the system.

But what exactly is exam technique? It seems like a phenomenon that changes with every subject, and is learnt through 'practise'. There are no official resources (believe me, I've tried copying everything the mark scheme says in Psychology only to get an unsatisfying 9/14.) And it seems like everyone else knows that ionisation energy is the energy required to remove the most outer electron within 1mole of a gaseous substance in the mass spectrometer.

So why is this? How can I learn exam technique and apply it to future homeworks?
Exam technique is just knowing how the examiners want certain questions answered basically.

I only did chem out of the subjects you're doing but the definitions like that are the easy marks in the exam, you should be able to instantly give a definition for anything worth 3 marks instantly.

Hope that helps...

My old chemistry teacher used to start most of them with TECWOMO(The Energy Change When One Mole Of) so help you rmember it's a mole. With chemistry you just wanna be hitting past papers a lot. Then looking at the mark schemes and seeing exactly what key words the examiners are looking for...
Reply 2