The Student Room Group

Applications for Modern Languages?

Hi guys,

Out of curiosity - who's applying for modern languages this year? I'm finding it quite a challenge to write my PS; I don't really want to make it an extensive list of places I've been & obvious cultural interests etc., although I wouldn't really want to do a PS focused on linguistics alone. It's been a while since I've written a PS for uni too, since I've been studying at another uni for the past 2 years. Since I'm changing both uni & course, I was wondering if anyone had any useful tips, or any links to some good PS examples for modern languages? What type of things should I definitely include?

It's not like I don't know what to write, but I'm having trouble with what I should/n't emphasise most, plus there's the dreadful matter of the word limit, lol. It'd be particularly useful if anyone could share their experiences of changing courses or reapplying to a uni offering modern languages degrees, as I'd really like to get this off in a week's time.

(edited 13 years ago)
Hey, I'm studying MFL if I can be of any use :h:.
There are a few useful PSs on TSR, if you see from the tabs above :yep:. I can't really say anything that you MUST include, because for different people, there will be different things to include depending on what you enjoy in the course, your achievements, hobbies etc.