The Student Room Group

Not sure how to study at uni - help please!

Hi everyone. My first week of lectures started last week so I'm still fairly new to everything. I had 3 lectures - 2 of which were recaps of A level material and so were no problem - but 1 was completely new content for everyone.

I'll have to describe what it was about so people get the full picture :P I'm studying Zoology, and this first lecture was about bees and how we've exploited them for our own needs (eg. honey etc). But then they started to go on about killer bees, hive structures, a specific mite that lives on the bee and causes problems etc. On top of that we've been given loads of recommended reading (as in, several articles that are 100+ pages each).

My problem is that I don't know what is really all that relevant for the course. Obviously I know to succeed at Uni you should get a decent knowledge of the materials taught in lectures and then back that up with your own research into areas that interest you. But it was the sheer amount of work that will be needed to achieve this just for that one lecture that is making my problem. I don't want to follow that plan above, get to an exam and find that I should've actually read more into a different area, giving me a bad mark.

I know I should ask my lecturer about the specific details of this, but I'm just wondering if this is a general problem people had when they first started Uni and how you managed to work through it. I'd rather not bother my lecturer with stupid mundane things!

Thanks, I hope I managed to put over my problem in the right way :s-smilie:
Reply 1