The Student Room Group

Want to drop out of uni

I am currently in a tough position. I am at Aberdeen University and really want to go home. I am still waiting for my Tutorial Advisor (from college) to give me a reference for UCAS as I am currently applying for The University of Liverpool for next year. Basically I applied to do Politics and International Relations at Aberdeen and got an offer so I accepted.

I came here really excited and it has been a let down since day one! Firstly my halls are rubbish. I'm a first year undergrad put with a load of post grads! (WTF!!!) Secondly I came to do IR and Politics but I have to include random module choices (Sociology, history and computer science!!!) to make up my credits, due to the education system up here in Scotland. I came to do politics and IR not all this other crap (for want of a better word).

Its at the point now where I am sticking on by my fingernails just so I can complete OTC selection and then try and transfer home. On the other hand I just want to go home regardless of if I get an offer for first year back at home or not next year. Any advice would help!

xx
(edited 13 years ago)
Original post by little-miss-scouse
I just want to go home regardless of if I get an offer for first year back at home or not next year.

This is the bit that stuck out for me - you just want to go home. If you dislike Aberdeen that much, I'd recommend just going home and applying to unis you can commute to or live nearer to (whichever one is the aim) once you're back. :smile:
Reply 2
Give the uni you want to attend to a phone call before you do anything. Dont e-mail them as that will take to long and you most likely wont get the kind of response your looking for.