The Student Room Group

Can i do a PGCE if i have a Fashion Degree?

I am currently half way through a BA Honours degree in Fashion promotion, however after my degree I would like to do a PGCE in Primary education and become a teacher. Apparently it is not essential to have a degree in a national curriculum subject, however it is preferred, do you think any universities would accept me?
Original post by KSC1605
I am currently half way through a BA Honours degree in Fashion promotion, however after my degree I would like to do a PGCE in Primary education and become a teacher. Apparently it is not essential to have a degree in a national curriculum subject, however it is preferred, do you think any universities would accept me?

Have a look at uni's that do a primary PGCE and see the entry requirments and maybe contact some of the unis and ask.

I think you could do a PGCE in Secondary so you could teach D&T.

x
Reply 2
Original post by KSC1605

It's not essential to have a degree in a national curriculum based subject? Srs?! Would you describe 'Fashion Promotion' as a vocational subject? I think to get on a PGCE you would need an actual academic degree. Edit: Even if it wasn't required you'd struggle to get on such a competitive course when there are people with degrees in national curriculum subjects.

This is the first course I came across on google:

http://www.education.manchester.ac.uk/postgraduate/taught/courses/pgceprimary/entryrequirments/

"Our preferred subjects are:

English (including Language, Literature or Combined)

Mathematics

Physics

Chemistry

Biology (including Human Biology)

Science

History

Geography

Art

PE

RE (including Theology)

ICT (including Computing)

Music

Psychology

Classics

Statistics

Modern Languages (including French, German and Spanish)

Techonology (including Food Technology and Design Teachnology)"
(edited 13 years ago)
Reply 3
Original post by Rhiani-ani-on