The Student Room Group

What is a certified copy?

Hi guys

I've just gotten some offers and I've been told to send the unis "certified copies" of my A level results.

What did you guys send in? Was it stamped by your school or the examining body? I am an international student, by the way.

Thanks for your help!
Reply 1
It just means the certificates you got/are going to get after your exams - you know, a4 sized piece of thick paper with your name, subject, grades and exam board etc? It is just a way for the university to further verify your results and make sure you aren't trying to sneak in :smile:
Reply 2
You need to get a copy stamped by either your referee, someone at your school, or someone in a position authority such as a lawyer. Your referee would be easiest and therefore best. You need to show your referee the original certificate and the photocopy, and then they need to write on the photocopy that they have seen both and it is a true copy. Then they should sign, date and stamp it.
Reply 3
Original post by Wookie42
It just means the certificates you got/are going to get after your exams - you know, a4 sized piece of thick paper with your name, subject, grades and exam board etc? It is just a way for the university to further verify your results and make sure you aren't trying to sneak in :smile:

I wanted to know what they needed for a photocopy of my results to qualify as "certified". Thanks anyway!

Original post by Juno
You need to get a copy stamped by either your referee, someone at your school, or someone in a position authority such as a lawyer. Your referee would be easiest and therefore best. You need to show your referee the original certificate and the photocopy, and then they need to write on the photocopy that they have seen both and it is a true copy. Then they should sign, date and stamp it.

Thank you! Very helpful :smile:
Reply 4