The Student Room Group

How to write a good essay?

Hi, I'm in my second year studying Psychology and usually get 2:2's on essay's. One of my lecturer's commented that I don't put enough of my own thought in. So how can structure an essay, giving equal balance to the theory and also your own interpretation of the question? For example, for questions with where you have to: "Discuss problems", "compare theories" and "Discuss the development of theory x, and the contribution it has had..."

I have just realised this year (especially for essay based sujects) that you can't get by, merely by just regurgitating the facts-a lot of independent thought is required. Unfortunately, they don't get you to do this at A-Level.
Reply 1
To put some more of my own thoughts into an essay, generally speaking, I'd approach it like this.

Part 1. Pick one theorist argument vs other theorist argument - so Theory A says...... but counter to Theory A... Theory B says this. For each, list the key academics/theorists/proponents and their arguments for the theory.

Part 2. Address the criticisms that exist for each theory. This could be other authors who have said this, that and the other about the theories you've highlighted. This phase is you essentially distilling information and "creating" an argument for picking the theory Part 3 below.

Part 3. Pick the theory you agree with the most. State why you have chosen to go down this route, backed up by evidence you've read - (real world cases can help here). This will re-address some points in Part 2 above but should emphasise the fact that you've thought critically about the theory. You'll need to argue against the theory you've rejected as well - why it isn't relevant etc.