The Student Room Group

Nursing courses for graduates - confused!...

Hi all. I am currently in my second year of uni doing a humanities subject (archaeology and anthropology at Cambridge). I've been researching careers and have become very attracted to a career in mental health nursing (I won't bore you with the details but it seems perfect!). However I'm very confused about the process of training for graduates in nursing. Here's my rather large list of queries.

1) I've seen a lot about the phasing out of diplomas. Accelerated graduate courses are diplomas, so will they even be around when I've graduated (summer 2012)? I'm not sure that I could face three years more until employment! Also I understand that there are funding differenced between diplomas and degrees?

2) I don't really even know what the entry requirements are, as I have seen some people writing that you need a highly health-related degree, whereas in other places it isn't specified at all. For example the King's college course requirements state "a good Second Class Honours Degree (or equivalent) and social/healthcare related experience"; Nottingham says "degrees in the following fields are of particular relevance to this course: biological sciences, social sciences, psychology, behavioural sciences, and health studies" but social sciences covers so many courses!? I don't see a reason why I would not be able to do a mental health course with my current education - I know archaeology and anthropology isn't exactly related but I consider myself an intelligent enough person (sorry, that sounds so arrogant...) and I'm used to working very hard. I see no reason that, given the training, I could not apply myself to become a good mental health nurse.

3) I appreciate that I would need to get healthcare experience to show that I am suited to nursing (and I want to as I think I would really enjoy it). How much experience are you expected to have and of what sort?