The Student Room Group

M2 and M3 before M1

Hey all, just looking for a bit of advice concerning Maths/Further Maths A level.

My school takes C1/C2/S1 in Year 12 followed by C3/C4/M1 in Year 13, took C1 last week meaning I'm currently studying for C2 and stats.

Around the October half term I decided I wanted to take Further Maths, this was my own responsibility as I already had 5 subjects at the time. I got hold of FP1 and learnt it as fast as I could, feeling completely ready for the exam in a fortnight.

Obviously to complete the Further Maths AS by the end of this year I need to complete two more supplementary units, Stats is out of the question because for A2 I will be taking FM within the school after dropping a subject or two for Y13, and the school choose to take FP2/S2/S3 as their A2 FM units.

It's been suggested that I take a shot at D1 and D2 in the summer, which will complete my FM AS. However this is not too attractive to me, I've gone over the stuff and although I will accept it as a last option, it looks extremely boring, repetitive and doesn't fulfil any of my interests at all. Additionally, it may not be as desirable when applying to uni to take either a Maths or Physics degree.

Therefore my only other option is to sit Mechanics modules... as my school takes M1 as default for Y13 Maths, that means I would have to take M2 and M3 this year to avoid difficulties next year.

So really, I am asking, is this possible? Is it allowed by the exam boards, is it acheivable, difficult, or sane? Do the topics in M1 set the ground in a way that M2 and M3 would be impossible without its knowledge? Open to any other suggestions also.

Cheers. X
Reply 1