The Student Room Group

MSc Real Estate / Investment & Finance

I know, another topic of this but in all honesty, I've googled, wiki'd, ask'd and there seems to be a lot of debate on which is the 'best' school for Real Estate and doesn't seem to be a general consensus. Further, relying on League tables is pretty useless for this specific field of study. Additionally, I am an international student (Australia) and a lot of talk has been from the domestic UK or EU student standpoint.

The courses I have applied to are as follows;

Cass Business School - MSc Real Estate Investment (unconditional offer)

University of Reading - MSc Real Estate (unconditional offer)

UCL - International Real Estate & Planning (Course Director has said I'm accepted, just waiting for UCL admissions to ensure I have the 2:1 standard)

Cambridge - MPhil Real Estate Finance (didn't bother applying. Only have a mid 2:1)

Ideally want to get into Development/Investment of in IB real estate arm or development firm (BNP, Blackstone, Lend Lease etc.) - have no interest in Trading. Also looking to head to Canada post study so which is more recognised internationally? And does prestige vs. content matter in this case?

Any opinions, advise, which is recognized superior internationally, pro's and con's etc. would be greatly appreciated. Personally, I am stuck between Cass and UCL

Cheers
(edited 13 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Yo.
I applied to UCL and Cambridge for the same courses; I have an interview with UCL next week, haven't heard anything back from Cambridge yet but doubt my chances with them. As an international student, I'd suggest going with UCL/Cambridge due to their international standing. In the UK, Reading has a very good rep specifically within Real Estate but generally it is an average uni, whereas UCL/Cambridge are world renowned. And in the end of the day, reputation counts. They're all good bets though.
Good luck
Reply 2
Original post by thebadboy2k1
Yo.