The Student Room Group

Advice for mature student

Hi everyone! I am new here and am hoping for some advice. I have applied as a mature student to Aberystwyth Uni ( I will be 26 when I start), I have also applied to do the scholarship exam. I have applied to study business and management and I have also put film and TV down, as this has always been a big hobby of mine.

Since leaving school, I have ran two of my own businesses, and now feel I am ready to go back into education. I am wondering what people think my chances are as a mature student of getting in? As I have said i am new to all of this and any advice would be gratefully received!

Thanks in advance!
Reply 1
So have you applied for two courses which are completely different at the same uni?

How did you write your personal statement to cover this? What qualifications do you have?
Reply 2
Yeah I have, I wrote about how it had always been a big hobby of mine and the things I had done which involved the subject e.g. being involved in an amateur drama group.
My highest qualification is B in AVCE business studies. However when I attended the open day at Aber back in October -I spoke to someone from the department and the way they put it across to me was that I shouldn't be too worried about my grades - they would look more at experience as I am a mature student?.
Reply 3
Original post by holywell_matt
However when I attended the open day at Aber back in October -I spoke to someone from the department and the way they put it across to me was that I shouldn't be too worried about my grades - they would look more at experience as I am a mature student?.

By the sounds of it, you have answered your own question if the uni said that your life experience count for more than exams.