The Student Room Group

Unsuccessful application :(

I just got turned down by UCL for civil engineering. I'm soo down now. Applied to Nottingham, Surrey, City, and Warwick as well, but my first choice has turned me down. I feel soo down now :frown:

Anyone cheer me up please! I can't even understand the reason, considering my personal statement was "very outstanding" as my English teacher and some other said. My grades were ICT (A), German (A), Maths (B), Physics (C).

Is there still any chance of getting in?

:frown::frown::frown::frown:

Edit- the reason I'm more down that normal is that last year I got a conditional offer from UCL but despite having AAAA in my first modules of Maths I ended up with an overall B. That just makes me extremely upset now.
(edited 13 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Keep calm, carry on.
Well I'm not an engineering expert, but surely As in Maths and Physics would look better than As in German and ICT. You're probably competing with people with these grades and more.
What were your predicted grades?
Call them and ask them why they rejected you, you might get an insight into why.

Good luck with your other choices!
(edited 13 years ago)
Reply 3
There's every chance of getting into your other 4!!
Unfortunately, this is a horrible year to be applying to university, everywhere's overflowing with candidates, and they just can't take everyone.
It sucks that it's your first choice, but your other choices are great too!!
And most people end up loving uni wherever they go.
You feel down now, but you'll feel better soon, I promise.
Reply 4
Email/phone them for feedback..
Original post by DesignFreak
Well I'm not an engineering expert, but surely As in Maths and Physics would look better than As in German and ICT. You're probably competing with people with these grades and more.
Call them and ask them why they rejected you, you might get an insight into why.