Now, I'm no vegetarian myself, but after a few startled responses both on here and in "real life" (you know, 'cos you guys only exist in my computer screen), I thought we could start a thread of foods you ASSUME are vegetarian, but actually, are more deceptive than Starscream... and aren't suitable at ALL.
Dun Dun DUUUUUN!
So please post foods that our perhaps less-informed Vegetarian brethren might not be aware of being non-veggie!
I'll start our list off with:
Why is it unsuitable? Fanta contains fish, I believe fish oils in the colourings.
McDonalds Spicy Veggie Deli Sandwich
Why is it unsuitable? McDonalds Q and A confirm it is potentially prepared in the same fat the meat products are.
MASTER LIST OF UNSUITABLE FOOD AND DRINK PREVIOUSLY POSTED THROUGHOUT ENTIRE THREAD:
Lea and Perrins
McDonalds Apple Pie
McDonalds Spicy Veggi Deli
Kelloggs Frosted wheats
Muller Lights and some corners
Cheddar flavour, Walkers crisps
Flora Omega 3/lighter than light range
Tangy cheese flavour doritos
some hard cheeses
some brands of Rainbow Sprinkles
some snack a jacks varieties
Rice Krispie Squares (all varieties except caramel)
Some brands of Glace cherries
Heinz "Taste of Home" Canned Jam Pudding
Hartley's Jelly (most jellies in general)
Black Sheep (Cask, bottled is good)
Hobgoblin (this one really annoyed me)
Old Speckled Hen
Tesco noodles (however sweet and sour are fine)*
Tesco Ploughman's Sandwich (old recipe, new recipe is now veggie-friendly!)
Some mousse-based desserts
Papa John's six-cheese pizza
Dolmio Creamy Pasta Bake Tomato Sauce
Options Hot Chocolate
Unknown CADBURY'S products (one poster received a letter stating "some products" contain beef gelatin, but could not provide a list)
Chicken Super Noodles
Why is it unsuitable? The cheese powder contains rennet. Note that this only applies to any Walkers product with "cheddar" flavouring, such as cheddar cheese, mature cheddar, and cheddar cheese and bacon. Regular Cheese and Onion is safe.
I am a veggie, this is what i've discovered so far:
Marshmallow's/haribo/jelly/anything with gelatine (obviously), party rings, tangy cheese flavour doritos (i think), some cheese because some of it isn't made with veggiee friendly rennet, so that is a no-no. Some drugs/antibiotics aren't suitable for veggies, although these are mostly prescription. A lot of wines & other alcoholic drinks contain gelatine (little known fact) and are thus unsuitable. Some red food colouring (although think they might have changed it now, i know it used to be made of crushed cochineal beatles, yum), and also quite a few e-numbers are unsuitable.
Had no idea fanta was unsuitable, or that chicken supernoodles were ok i don't drink fanta so that's ok
Only recently realised this, but if you're veggie for ethical reasons, then really, you shouldn't drink milk or eat milk products, as most male calves in the dairy industry are shot very young as they are useless, and some cows are given growth hormones so they can produce 3 calves a year to increase milk production - even though the normal bovine gestation period is 9 months. So it's quite unethical to drink milk if you object to animal cruelty. http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandsty...19/ethicalfood
Oh and quorn isn't suitable for vegans, as it has egg in it.