The Student Room Group
City campus, Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield
Visit website

Course no longer running in 2012

I applied for both Computer Networks and Computing at Hallam, got offers for both.

However, according to SHU's website, for BSc Computer Networks it states "This course is not be available for 2012 entry" (nice grammar right lol). I'm assuming they are not running the course any longer and 2011 applicants will be the last to do the course at the university.

This surely has many disadvantages? New undergraduates won't be able to get on the course obviously when I am in my 2nd year and onwards meaning there will be less people doing the course. Plus, there must be a reason for them cutting the course; lack of funding in that department, interest, staff etc?

Can anyone clear things up for me as I'm seriously having doubts about taking the course now, and may have to choose Computing which was my less preferred back-up.

Thanks in advance.
Reply 1
Original post by zzajb
I applied for both Computer Networks and Computing at Hallam, got offers for both.

However, according to SHU's website, for BSc Computer Networks it states "This course is not be available for 2012 entry" (nice grammar right lol). I'm assuming they are not running the course any longer and 2011 applicants will be the last to do the course at the university.

This surely has many disadvantages? New undergraduates won't be able to get on the course obviously when I am in my 2nd year and onwards meaning there will be less people doing the course. Plus, there must be a reason for them cutting the course; lack of funding in that department, interest, staff etc?

Can anyone clear things up for me as I'm seriously having doubts about taking the course now, and may have to choose Computing which was my less preferred back-up.

Thanks in advance.